Time Between Us [Time Between Us #1] by Tamara Ireland Stone

11115457

Title: Time Between Us

Series: Time Between Us #1

Author: Tamara Ireland Stone

Format: Paperback

Published: 2012

Rating: 51661516615166151661

Summary: Anna and Bennett were never supposed to meet: she lives in 1995 Chicago and he lives in 2012 San Francisco. But Bennett has the unique ability to travel through time and space, which brings him into Anna’s life, and with him a new world of adventure and possibility.

As their relationship deepens, the two face the reality that time may knock Bennett back to where he belongs, even as a devastating crisis throws everything they believe into question. Against a ticking clock, Anna and Bennett are forced to ask themselves how far they can push the bounds of fate, what consequences they can bear in order to stay together, and whether their love can stand the test of time.

Review: 

“I don’t stay anywhere. I visit. I observe. I leave. I don’t ever stay.”

Time Between Us is one of those books those books that if you hadn’t read the back of the book [or forgot what you were reading] you wouldn’t have any idea what you were getting yourself into. Every once in a while I read a summary and it’s months before I can get around to reading said book and aside from knowing that I wanted to read it, I don’t always remember what it was about. Or, if I am crazy about the author, I don’t even bother to read the summary. For this one, I knew what I was getting myself into, knew that I should expect something along the lines of The Time Traveller’s Wife, but I was still looking forward to it.

Anna and Bennett are two kids from very different time periods who just so happen to end up falling in love despite the fact that she was born so many years ahead of him. The best part about the two of them in this particular book is that they are so relatable. They are just normal kids, who act and speak like normal kids. So often authors who are obviously not in their teens any longer write sixteen and seventeen year olds to either sound like they’re twelve, or like they are thirty, neither of which is realistic. But Anna and Bennett, along with their friends, were realistic and likeable. They were also not annoying Mary-Sue’s, which is always a plus. Two thumbs up to Tamara Ireland Stone!

My absolute favorite part [aside from the wonderful characters] was Stone didn’t make this one of those perfect love stories where nobody cares that the kid is time travelling and the laws of physics are against him, she made sure to bring up The Butterfly Effect and how Bennett unfortunately sometimes gets caught, gets stuck, or gets thrown back because the universe is righting itself. Every little decision effects everything around you. What if you left the house one minute earlier, or you had stopped for coffee, or had spoken to someone for even a moment? How would it affect the world around you? Everyone likes to think that peoples’ actions don’t affect you if they don’t directly affect you, but the truth is that everything affects everything and I love that Stone touched on that topic in her story.

I only gave the story a four star rating but that is mostly because while I really liked it, I don’t believe I would read it again. I have books on my shelf that I would [and have] read probably a dozen times, but this is one of those sweet romances that you read once and you are good with that. So if you’re looking for a love story with no silly or forced angst, no love triangles, and realistic, heart warming characters, then you should really give Time Between Us a chance. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

“Time is the longest distance between two places.”

Leave a Reply

